BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.
arebx
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Jan 2021, 14:45

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by arebx » 07 Jan 2021, 14:50

hi, i wanted to overclock my XL2411Z but for some reason every custom resolution or hz that i set in CRU doesn't appear in windows settings and if I try to overclock my monitor from the AMD software it says that custom resolution aren't compatible with my screen. What can I do?

Rayback
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 Jan 2021, 14:18

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Rayback » 08 Jan 2021, 14:25

Hello.

I tried to overclock my screen. Benq xl2411. He is not listed in the first post.

I have dvid hdmi and vga on the screen.

I just tried with dvid.

Uncap blackscreen. Work with 2 step. One for black screen. One for hud error" out of range"

205 hertz black screen
200 hertz give me flick white pixel in somes zone.
195 hertz. Same but not really visible.
190 hertz. Seems to be ok. With test ufo.

With blur reduction. I can t pass 170 hertz with really dark sceeen.

Thank you for the tips!

Can i optimise something?

The_System
Posts: 5
Joined: 08 Feb 2019, 04:55

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by The_System » 08 Jan 2021, 16:44

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
06 Jan 2021, 14:43
The_System wrote:
06 Jan 2021, 13:28
How difficult would it be to make OorBuster work on Linux? I've been using Manjaro for about three years now and I have been missing getting 165Hz out of my monitor as I used to on Windows.
If you already know DDC commands you can create a script instead using the Linux DDC command utility based on the findings of the first ten pages of this thread about the magic DDC commands to dismiss the “Out Of Range” popup.
I'm not familiar with DDC commands, but I'll do some research and hopefully get a script working. Thanks Chief

Update:
So I have managed to get a script working to dismiss the "Out of Range" message. I am now however facing an issue where I am getting severe artifacting as can be seen in the video below.

phpBB [video]


Here is the bash script I'm using:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
ddcutil --bus=7 setvcp CC 02
ddcutil --bus=7 setvcp DC 00
Here is the output of "ddcutil capabilities --bus=7" ddcutil Reference:

Code: Select all

Model: XL2720
MCCS version: 2.2
Commands:
   Command: 01 (VCP Request)
   Command: 02 (VCP Response)
   Command: 03 (VCP Set)
   Command: 07 (Timing Request)
   Command: 0c (Save Settings)
   Command: e3 (Capabilities Reply)
   Command: f3 (Capabilities Request)
VCP Features:
   Feature: 02 (New control value)
   Feature: 04 (Restore factory defaults)
   Feature: 05 (Restore factory brightness/contrast defaults)
   Feature: 08 (Restore color defaults)
   Feature: 0B (Color temperature increment)
   Feature: 0C (Color temperature request)
   Feature: 10 (Brightness)
   Feature: 12 (Contrast)
   Feature: 14 (Select color preset)
      Values:
         04: 5000 K
         05: 6500 K
         08: 9300 K
         0b: User 1
   Feature: 16 (Video gain: Red)
   Feature: 18 (Video gain: Green)
   Feature: 1A (Video gain: Blue)
   Feature: 52 (Active control)
   Feature: AC (Horizontal frequency)
   Feature: AE (Vertical frequency)
   Feature: B2 (Flat panel sub-pixel layout)
   Feature: B6 (Display technology type)
   Feature: C0 (Display usage time)
   Feature: C6 (Application enable key)
   Feature: C8 (Display controller type)
   Feature: C9 (Display firmware level)
   Feature: CA (OSD/Button Control)
      Values:
         01: OSD disabled, button events enabled
         02: OSD enabled, button events enabled
   Feature: CC (OSD Language)
      Values:
         01: Chinese (traditional, Hantai)
         02: English
         03: French
         04: German
         05: Italian
         06: Japanese
         08: Portuguese (Portugal)
         09: Russian
         0a: Spanish
         0b: Swedish
         0d: Chinese (simplified / Kantai)
         12: Czech
         14: Dutch
         1a: Hungarian
         1e: Polish
         1f: Romanian 
         20: Serbian
   Feature: D6 (Power mode)
      Values:
         01: DPM: On,  DPMS: Off
         05: Write only value to turn off display
   Feature: DF (VCP Version)
   Feature: 86 (Display Scaling)
      Values:
         01: No scaling
         02: Max image, no aspect ration distortion
         05: Max vertical image with aspect ratio distortion
         0b: Unrecognized value
         0c: Unrecognized value
         0d: Unrecognized value
         0e: Unrecognized value
         0f: Unrecognized value
         10: Unrecognized value
         11: Unrecognized value
         12: Unrecognized value
         13: Unrecognized value
   Feature: 60 (Input Source)
      Values:
         01: VGA-1
         03: DVI-1
         11: HDMI-1
         12: HDMI-2
         0f: DisplayPort-1
   Feature: F7 (manufacturer specific feature)
      Values: 00 01 (interpretation unavailable)
   Feature: DA (Scan mode)
      Values:
         00: Normal operation
         02: Overscan
   Feature: DC (Display Mode)
      Values:
         00: Standard/Default mode
         03: Movie
         0b: Unrecognized value
         0c: Unrecognized value
         0e: Unrecognized value
         15: Unrecognized value
         16: Unrecognized value
         17: Unrecognized value
         18: Unrecognized value
         19: Unrecognized value
         1a: Unrecognized value
   Feature: EA (manufacturer specific feature)
      Values: 00 01 02 03 04 05 (interpretation unavailable)
   Feature: F4 (manufacturer specific feature)
      Values: 00 01 (interpretation unavailable)
   Feature: 90 (Hue)
   Feature: 72 (Gamma)
      Invalid gamma descriptor: 50 64 78 8c a0
   Feature: F8 (manufacturer specific feature)
      Values: 00 0A 14 1E (interpretation unavailable)
   Feature: EF (manufacturer specific feature)
      Values: 00 01 (interpretation unavailable)
   Feature: F0 (manufacturer specific feature)
      Values: 00 01 02 (interpretation unavailable)
   Feature: 40 (Horizontal Parallelogram)
      Values: 00 01 (interpretation unavailable)
   Feature: 41 (Vertical Parallelogram)
   Feature: 42 (Horizontal Keystone)
Here is my /etc/X11/xorg.conf who's changed values are highlighted xorg.conf Reference:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 450.56.11

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 450.66

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

# HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "BenQ ZOWIE XL LCD"
HorizSync 30.0 - 200.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 165.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce GTX 1080"
Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "false"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "DVI-D-0: 1920x1080_144 +1920+0, HDMI-0: nvidia-auto-select +0>
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DVI-D-0: 1920x1080_144 +1920+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, >
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DVI-D-0: 1920x1080_144 +1769+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, >
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DVI-D-0: 1920x1080_144 +1769+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, >
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "Coolbits" "8"
Option "Stereo" "0"
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
Option "metamodes" "DVI-D-0: 1920x1080_144 +1920+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On>
Option "SLI" "Off"
Option "MultiGPU" "Off"
Option "BaseMosaic" "off"
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNonEdidModes,NoEdidMaxPClkCheck,NoMaxPClkCheck"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Does anyone have some advice for me to solve the artifacting?

2.0mailer
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Jan 2021, 05:09

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by 2.0mailer » 14 Jan 2021, 05:12

arebx wrote:
07 Jan 2021, 14:50
hi, i wanted to overclock my XL2411Z but for some reason every custom resolution or hz that i set in CRU doesn't appear in windows settings and if I try to overclock my monitor from the AMD software it says that custom resolution aren't compatible with my screen. What can I do?
I am having the same issue did you find a fix?

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 8804
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto / Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 17 Jan 2021, 01:45

You could convert the ToastyX numbers earlier in this thread, to proper ModeLines.

There's a formula to convert a ToastyX GUI into one text line (called a "ModeLine")

Did you try this, and did it work?

Also, this is too low:
HorizSync 30.0 - 200.0

Remember HorizSync is number of pixel rows per second, as screen refresh top to bottom -- www.blurbusters.com/scanout !!! -- Assuming a typical 1080p refresh cycle is 1125 pixels tall (HDTV standard size; 1080 visible plus 45 VBI (vertical blanking interval) being used as spacer between refresh cycles). Now if you're needing overclock headroom to 240....

1125 pixel rows x 240 refresh cycles per second
1125 x 240 = 270000
Scan rate = 270000 pixel rows per second = 270.0 KHz

In this case, one pixel row is transmitted out of the GPU output in 1/270000sec, during a VT1125 240Hz signal, spewing out all those pixel rows, as a defacto serialization of 2D image into a 1D cable.

So whomever told you to use 200.00 totally screwed up, and since I know one person overclocked to 265 Hz successfully, so let's round up to 300.00 KHz or 350.00 KHz to give you enough optional overclock room. Remember, these are not guaranteed to work, but you don't want to limit your own horizontal scan rate.

Corrected numbers:
HorizSync 30.0 - 300.0

As a rule of thumb, multiply your vertical resolution by approximately 1.05 (common VBI size is ~5% of vertical resolution, this varies a lot), then by refresh rate, then divide by 1000, add a safety margin, and that's the upper-bound number you should use for HorizSync So napkin math (1080p x 1.05 x 265 Hz) is about 300000. This is a mostly futureproof formula, for any future vertical resolution that's not a big VBI (e.g. Large Vertical Total, Quick Frame Transport, etc). Large vertical totals can reduce strobe crosstalk if you use motion blur reduction, but this is not as important if you're not using strobing.

On the GPU, refresh cycles are into a stream of pixels when pushed out of (VGA|DVI|DP|HDMI|tincans|whatever), raster-style (like reading a book or calender), beginning with the upper-left pixel, left-to-right, top-to-bottom, serializing 2D into 1D. The blanking intervals are the (porches + sync) combined. And you've got both a horizontal blanking interval and a vertical blanking interval.

Figuratively, by only using "200.0", somebody is trying to fly an airplane without learning to fly an airplane first. ;) If you can create bash scripts and compile a Linux kernel, then this stuff is dirt-easy to learn. This might not be enough, you may need to learn how to convert ToastyX numbers to Linux ModeLine numbers.
Please study Custom Resolution Utility Glossary

A video signal is mapped out like this, this will help you understand how to convert ToastyX numbers to ModeLines:
Image

P.S. Most Linux users have tended to be advanced users/programmers. I welcome such readers to read do some advanced reading of refresh cycle science & physics, www.blurbusters.com/area51 -- not relevant to the above, but these are textbook reads by less experienced engineers at monitor manufacturers. Some people do buy 240 Hz and 360 Hz monitors just for better web browser scrolling and improved desktop experience (240Hz has 1/4th the scrolling motion blur of 60Hz, and 360Hz has 1/6th the scrolling motion blur of 60Hz), as high Hz is not just for esports anymore.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter

       To support Blur Busters:
       • Official List of Best Gaming Monitors
       • List of G-SYNC Monitors
       • List of FreeSync Monitors
       • List of Ultrawide Monitors

Bukaj210
Posts: 1
Joined: 17 Jan 2021, 11:42

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Bukaj210 » 17 Jan 2021, 11:48

This is outdated or really a not properly written tutorial, if its even meant to be one.
There is no "movie" radio button in softMCCS btw.

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 8804
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto / Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 17 Jan 2021, 19:47

Bukaj210 wrote:
17 Jan 2021, 11:48
This is outdated or really a not properly written tutorial, if its even meant to be one.
There is no "movie" radio button in softMCCS btw.
Deets please. What model?

The SoftMCCS settings appear/disappear for different BenQ monitors, apparently. SoftMCCS reads what settings are available in the monitor, and makes settings appear/disappear in SoftMCCS depending on what the monitor supports.

This is an unofficial guide in a forum, actually.

There are too many things going on at Blur Busters to create an official main-website guide on this item at the moment -- since I don't have access to all models of BenQ monitors. You, users, need to help with this Forum thread -- if a specific model of a BenQ monitor doesn't have a Movie setting, please collaborate in this discussion forum thread ;) .... So everyone can improve this unofficial guide (and maybe eventually be rewritten to an official guide). Thank you!
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter

       To support Blur Busters:
       • Official List of Best Gaming Monitors
       • List of G-SYNC Monitors
       • List of FreeSync Monitors
       • List of Ultrawide Monitors

Monster
Posts: 4
Joined: 18 Jan 2021, 09:55

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Monster » 18 Jan 2021, 10:01

I have the xl2430t model. There is a problem when it passes 165 hz. It does not work above 165 hz. Is it because gtx 550ti old video card?
connected with dvi
The bidet says out of range when I turn it on and off on every monitor, the screen comes up when you press the control button of the monitor, how can I fix it
thanks in advance

Chopper1337
Posts: 4
Joined: 19 Dec 2019, 20:44

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Chopper1337 » 18 Jan 2021, 18:28

Yo, I haven't followed this thread in a long time so excuse if any of this is already known.

I had issues with OOR Buster only dismissing the Out of Range error but remaining on a black screen.
hleVqq's other program, "AntiOutOfRange", worked perfectly for me. Comparing the two programs from source, I noticed OORB does something related to AMA, AntiOutOfRange doesn't touch AMA.

So I have created a fork of OOR Buster which removes any AMA related code. This has allowed the program to function as intended in my case
.
I can't post links so GitHub but my username and the repository name are as follows: Chopper1337/OorBuster

I don't know C++ so I had to remove the launch parameters feature for this to compile.

I have an XL2411P, overclocks fine up to 190Hz @ 1280x960p over DisplayPort, GTX 1080Ti, haven't tested further yet.

Hope this helps anyone who had similar issues, many thanks to hleVqq for the great program and thanks to all who have contributed to this thread so far :)
BENQ ZOWIE XL2411P 144hz
GTX 1080Ti

User avatar
dokuxu
Posts: 1
Joined: 19 Jan 2021, 06:38

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by dokuxu » 19 Jan 2021, 06:42

EDIT again: just wanted to ask if there's any way to use the overclocked res ONLY in games, but keep the native 144 Hz in Windows? Specifically VALORANT. Or is it necessary to put the Windows res to the overclocked res as well?

If this has been answered already, please refer me to that post.

Thanks!
Last edited by dokuxu on 25 Jan 2021, 09:11, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply