BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.
fxntasy
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Dec 2019, 18:57

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by fxntasy » 22 Dec 2019, 19:04

I can't activate the things in MCCS. Every time I test my new resolution it does a new scan and the program isn't responding then. I once managed to change the settings somehow (idk why it was responding that time) but I didn't have the time to "accept" the new resolution. Unfortunately, I didn't have any luck getting it to work once again. Please help.

Edit: So I managed to drag the window from my benq to my 2nd monitor (took a couple of tries since the monitor was black), approve the new resolution and then activate the things in MCCS after it's done scanning.

fxntasy
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Dec 2019, 18:57

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by fxntasy » 23 Dec 2019, 12:33

Is it safe to use with artifacts? I have some artifacts on 210hz but it's not really bothersome so I was wondering if it's ok to use it.

Chopper1337
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 Dec 2019, 20:44

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Chopper1337 » 23 Dec 2019, 12:55

fxntasy wrote:
22 Dec 2019, 19:04
I can't activate the things in MCCS. Every time I test my new resolution it does a new scan and the program isn't responding then. I once managed to change the settings somehow (idk why it was responding that time) but I didn't have the time to "accept" the new resolution. Unfortunately, I didn't have any luck getting it to work once again. Please help.

Edit: So I managed to drag the window from my benq to my 2nd monitor (took a couple of tries since the monitor was black), approve the new resolution and then activate the things in MCCS after it's done scanning.
Use the tool from this comment viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5544&start=40#p42811
It makes it a lot easier, may not even need to use a second monitor. I made an AHK script to start this program and do a 1 second delay, was useful enough.
BENQ ZOWIE XL2411P 144hz
Red Devil RX 580

fxntasy
Posts: 3
Joined: 22 Dec 2019, 18:57

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by fxntasy » 24 Dec 2019, 15:37

My monitor now just stopped working. When using a DVI cable it's either no signal or the monitor is recognised as a generic non pnp monitor. I've tried to fix the generic non pnp monitor problem but to no avail. The monitor works fine when using an HDMI cable though. I suspect it might be a DVI cable issue? I don't have a 2nd cable so I can't check it.

Grofor
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Jan 2019, 18:56

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Grofor » 24 Dec 2019, 23:02

macexx wrote:
20 Aug 2019, 15:02
Just bought an xl2411p today so ofc the first thing was to try this ;)

Could get it stable at 165hz with ama set to high/premium with DP/DVI-D,
200hz with ama off DP/DVI-D.

With ama high/premium i would get a picture at higher refresh rates but image was distorted same goes for AMA off and 220hz.
Hey, im having problems with the softmccs tool, i simply cant select the osd langague and Display application settings are greyed out, what should i do? help!, thank you guys.

JosephSwainlin
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Dec 2019, 08:46

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by JosephSwainlin » 25 Dec 2019, 08:49

Hello,
I was successful in overclocking my BenQ xl2430 to 200hz but there is a picture noise at anything higher than 144hz. It's not too bad but is there any way to remove it?

chumacher
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 22:23

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by chumacher » 27 Dec 2019, 00:51

chumacher wrote:
10 Dec 2019, 22:37
Hi,
new here.
Thanks for all the hard work you have been doing.
I got my BenQ XL2420Z 144hz to overclock to 220hz with displayport.
I made the custom resolutions using CRU like this ( https://i.imgur.com/Ne6OXts.jpg ) (is the problem here? are these values correct) (also made 1440x1080 @ 220hz but the problem still persists.)
I'm using AntiOutOfRange-OorFixer and made hotkey for that OorFixer.exe file with macro program called PerfectKeyboard, everything works as they should.
I also use HRC v2.1 to switch resolutions with hotkeys.

But I do have one problem.
Here we go.
I like to play csgo with 1440x1080 resolution with black bars and everytime I apply the overclock and start csgo / or use desktop with 1440x1080 @ 220hz (or any other overclock) resolution it's stretched, nothing changes this, not nvidia control panel(only gpu scaling available there, no monitor scaling option available for some reason), or softMCCS's 'Display scaling - 0x86 option called 'No scaling, 1:1'

Should I do something with CRU while creating the custom resolution.

Thanks in advance if some has the time to help.

update: now it works, just resetted everything ( and 1440x1080 @ 210hz, with 220hz "white lines" start to get annoying while playing and colors are not that good anymore) with aspect ratio scaling from nvidia CP.
it works with 240hz 1440x1080 but well, colors are bbbbbaaaaaad...)
1440x1080 @ 240hz with ok colors works, but it's always in "stretched" mode, does any know how to prevent this?

Should I do something with CRU while creating the custom resolution. (porch etc settings, polarity and so on, what causes the GPU scaling to be active in 210hz but not in 240hz

komic0
Posts: 4
Joined: 29 Dec 2019, 04:40

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by komic0 » 29 Dec 2019, 11:55

Hi everyone.
First of all, Thank you for your forum and your hard work.
I have XL2411P, stable overclocked (with OORBuster and CRU) without frame skipping at :

-------------------------------------------------------------
@210hz (DP) [Desktop and CS:GO]
AMA: OFF
Blur Reduction: OFF
-------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------
@165hz (DP) [Desktop and CS:GO]
AMA: High / Permium
Blur Reduction: OFF / ON
-------------------------------------------------------------

--> But I think when I overclock my monitor, input lag goes high, because in CS:GO with native @144hz (AMA: Premium, Blur Reduction: ON) my experience is much much better than @210hz or @165hz.
Actually in @210hz I can tell you I can't kill opponents as easy as @144hz because they move faster and there is some input lag or delay with my monitor and they kill me like they have 480hz monitor!
The whole reason of the overclock is to reach higher refresh rate and have smoother picture and better experience.
So I can't explain why in overclocked mode my experience was bad!
I hope you can !

Thank you

* I am sure my CS:GO running @210hz or @165hz *

Boomchakadah
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:44

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Boomchakadah » 31 Dec 2019, 15:19

Is there a tool that can be used to remove the annoying ''out of range'' error that gets overlayed on a successful overclock?

Boomchakadah
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Aug 2018, 02:44

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Post by Boomchakadah » 01 Jan 2020, 07:17

komic0 wrote:
29 Dec 2019, 11:55

--> But I think when I overclock my monitor, input lag goes high, because in CS:GO with native @144hz (AMA: Premium, Blur Reduction: ON) my experience is much much better than @210hz or @165hz.
Did you forget to enable instant mode?

Post Reply