Page 20 of 26

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 06 Mar 2020, 21:00
by Chief Blur Buster
awee wrote:
06 Mar 2020, 20:43
On my monitor benq xl2411

I have managed to overclock up to 210 hz, but only on the windows desktop.

When I open the CSGO it goes back to 144hz.
- From the launch options I have put "-refresh 200"

- I have reinstalled the NVIDIA drivers.

And it always appears in the game 144hz

Can you help me?
Don't you mean -refresh 210 instead of -refresh 200 if you're overclocking to 210Hz?
Test another existing refresh rate, like 100 to make sure it isn't a malfunctioning command line.

Try using freq instead of refresh, and see if it works
-freq 210

Try including screen resolution
-w 1920 -h 1080 -freq 210

Also try temporarily launching outside Steam. If you know how to create a batch file, create one temporarily.

I'd like to know why it's not working for you.

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 07 Mar 2020, 06:14
by hleV
CSGO won't be able to utilize your custom refresh rate if it can't see it. Make sure your custom refresh rate can be selected in this window:

Image

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 07 Mar 2020, 10:04
by awee
Chief Blur Buster wrote:
06 Mar 2020, 21:00
awee wrote:
06 Mar 2020, 20:43
On my monitor benq xl2411

I have managed to overclock up to 210 hz, but only on the windows desktop.

When I open the CSGO it goes back to 144hz.
- From the launch options I have put "-refresh 200"

- I have reinstalled the NVIDIA drivers.

And it always appears in the game 144hz

Can you help me?
Don't you mean -refresh 210 instead of -refresh 200 if you're overclocking to 210Hz?
Test another existing refresh rate, like 100 to make sure it isn't a malfunctioning command line.

Try using freq instead of refresh, and see if it works
-freq 210

Try including screen resolution
-w 1920 -h 1080 -freq 210

Also try temporarily launching outside Steam. If you know how to create a batch file, create one temporarily.

I'd like to know why it's not working for you.
If I write in the launch options.

-refresh 100 or -freq 100. When I write mat_info the resolution and 100hz appear, but if I write -freq 200 or -refresh it appears with the command "mat_info" on console 144hz.

I have also tested the "-w 1920 -h 1080 -freq 210" command in the launch options and it doesn't work either.


hleV wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 06:14
CSGO won't be able to utilize your custom refresh rate if it can't see it. Make sure your custom refresh rate can be selected in this window:

Image
If the custom frequency comes out as you say.

Image

PD I have news.

If in the video options I put window mode it works at 210Hz, but if I put it full screen it only works at 144Hz.

Do you know how I can solve it? I don't like to play in window mode.

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 07 Mar 2020, 11:15
by RealNC
CS:GO's in-game video options show available refresh rates. Is 200 available there as a choice?

Edit:
Also, I am confused now. Is it 200 or 210? You said you OCed to 210, but then you say you're trying to select 200.

Edit 2:
Oops, CS:GO does not have a refresh rate option in its in-game settings.

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 07 Mar 2020, 11:19
by awee
RealNC wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 11:15
CS:GO's in-game video options show available refresh rates. Is 200 available there as a choice?

Edit:
Also, I am confused now. Is it 200 or 210? You said you OCed to 210, but then you say you're trying to select 200.
Within the game you can only change the resolution and full screen or window mode.

The monitor shows image at 210Hz but I think it works better at 200Hz.

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 07 Mar 2020, 11:40
by hleV
awee wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 10:04
Do you know how I can solve it? I don't like to play in window mode.
It can be tricky. Try to set up the same custom resolution in NVCP AND in CRU.
RealNC wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 11:15
CS:GO's in-game video options show available refresh rates.
I don't think so.

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 09 Mar 2020, 12:56
by awee
hleV wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 11:40
awee wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 10:04
Do you know how I can solve it? I don't like to play in window mode.
It can be tricky. Try to set up the same custom resolution in NVCP AND in CRU.
RealNC wrote:
07 Mar 2020, 11:15
CS:GO's in-game video options show available refresh rates.
I don't think so.
With the CRU I have managed to make it work at 200hz in the CSGO. Thank you

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 10 Mar 2020, 02:54
by awee
Good Morning,

I notice that in the CSGO at 200hz I kill a lot less than at 144hz and I notice at some times as lag, as the game is paralyzed for a few milliseconds.

Any more happens to you? I think I like playing 144hz more without overclock.

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 10 Mar 2020, 03:37
by hleV
Could be skipping frames (test at testufo.com), or just coincidence as latest CSGO update introduced occasional stuttering.

Re: BenQ UNIVERSAL 144Hz->220Hz OVERCLOCK for 1080p 144 Hz

Posted: 12 Mar 2020, 17:40
by Chief Blur Buster
hleV wrote:
10 Mar 2020, 03:37
Could be skipping frames (test at testufo.com), or just coincidence as latest CSGO update introduced occasional stuttering.
That too;
-- I've seen marginal overclocks start to frameskip -- one of my BenQs showed some intermittent frameskipping until I reduced overclock by 5Hz.
-- Or it is the latency familiarty effect. Some people transitioning refresh rates temporarily have score dips until they get used to the new refresh rates. Sudden lag decreases can temporarily worsen scores while one reacclimates, because you're pre-trained to a specific latency. It's very common. This might not be your cause but I include this.
-- Color and gamma can be different, make sure you readjust your gamma to compensate.
-- Other times, the overclock degradations might outweigh the benefits on certain units.
-- Other coincidential cause, like that CS:GO update.

Switch back to 144Hz for some time and see how you perform.

Added note about random frameskippers (monitors that randomly skips refresh cycles sometimes during overclocking):

I've seen TestUFO frameskipping disappear after switching refresh rates back and fourth, when pushing the limits of some BenQ ZOWIEs. I call these "random frameskippers" -- they're perfect sometimes but stuttery other times -- the frameskipping/stable state may change every mode change (switching between 144Hz and the overclocked Hz).

If your unit is one of those "random frameskippers" (they exist), first in CS:GO be a spectator or join a casual game just to create some screen panning to check for stutters -- once things look good, join your real games. That way, if you see stuttering early on, try switching between desktop and then back to the game (make sure you're using the OORbuster or an automatic resetter utility), to force a reinitialization of the overclocked mode. Sometimes a reinitialization fixes things. Once things look smooth again, finish(exit) your casual game and join your important games without exiting CS:GO. Once a random frameskipper stabilizes, it usually stays stable until the next mode switch (e.g. switching or exiting to Windows desktop).

If you want a permanent fix to random frame skippers -- these random frameskippers is sometimes fixed by backing down the Hz some more, or slightly increasing the vertical total by a few pixels and making sure the porches are sufficiently big enough margin (a tiny VBI sometimes means not enough time for monitor to get ready to begin new refresh cycle; increasing likelihood of skippage).