Overclocking BENQ XL2420T v1 (120hz version)

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.
mintys

Overclocking BENQ XL2420T v1 (120hz version)

Post by mintys » 02 Oct 2020, 10:00

Hey everybody.
So I have a benq xl2420t @ native 120hz that recently bought for 40$. Ive done some research and realized there's actually 2 version of this model: the 120hz version (wich i have) and a 144hz version.
Im trying to overclock my monitor to 144hz but the highest i get is 130hz with "CVT reduced blank" on NVIDIA Control Panel
Im pretty new with overclocking monitors so i need a little advice to get 144hz.

pd: sorry for broken english lol

denexter3

Re: Overclocking BENQ XL2420T v1 (120hz version)

Post by denexter3 » 24 Nov 2020, 16:54

Depends what interface you use. Is it HDMI or DVI?
DVI is normally unable to handle this resolution, while HDMI depends on its version.

If you have DVI, use CRU (Custom Resolution Utility), do everything the same way, but choose "Timing" as "LCD Reduced".
This will decrease the blanks even more, and make it so DVI-D DL can actually handle the entire signal.

Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin

Re: Overclocking BENQ XL2420T v1 (120hz version)

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 24 Nov 2020, 23:12

Also try "Manual" and shrink numbers even smaller than LCD Reduced. Try a Horizontal Total of as small as 1944 pixels (8 pixels each for the horizontal porches/sync) and 1083 pixels (1 pixel each for the vertical porches/sync).

The BenQ monitors are usually Pixel Clock limited in overclocks -- the number of pixels per second transmitted over the cable. There are offscreen pixels used in porches and sync. To help you understand the bandwidth budget you're working with -- this is what CRU numbers look like when spatially mapped out on a signal.