BenQ XL2420z and Grayed out options under 'Display mode'

Talk about overclocking displays at a higher refresh rate. This includes homebrew, 165Hz, QNIX, Catleap, Overlord Tempest, SEIKI displays, certain HDTVs, and other overclockable displays.
Post Reply
chumacher
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 22:23

BenQ XL2420z and Grayed out options under 'Display mode'

Post by chumacher » 16 Jul 2020, 08:06

Hi,
My BenQ XL2420z is now succesfully overclocked to 210hz using Custom Resolution Utility.
Picture of my timings:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tdo9fs ... sp=sharing

With these instructions https://youtu.be/SWPoDcqRtxk?t=1143 (but different resolution tho)

True Monitor scaling is now working. This can be proven by trying to change scaling option from nvidia control panel and it does nothing (only GPU scaling available there with windows 10, with windows 7 I was able to select Monitor scaling from there). So monitor is doing the scaling.

Problem is this.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hpXPWD ... sp=sharing

I Would Like to use resolution 1280x960 with Black Bars (scale to aspect ratio) for gaming.

I would be very happy if someone can figure out how to enable those 'grayed out' options from 'Display Mode' Menu.

Dan111baSh
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Apr 2020, 11:40

Re: BenQ XL2420z and Grayed out options under 'Display mode'

Post by Dan111baSh » 13 Aug 2020, 16:14

tried this?
Image

chumacher
Posts: 12
Joined: 10 Dec 2019, 22:23

Re: BenQ XL2420z and Grayed out options under 'Display mode'

Post by chumacher » 18 Aug 2020, 08:26

Dan111baSh wrote:
13 Aug 2020, 16:14
tried this?
Image
Yes, It does not work so well when you make overclocked custom resolutions.
In your picture attachment you have 'GPU scaling' active, so you are kinda missing the point of this thread.

csplayer
Posts: 13
Joined: 26 Aug 2020, 12:10

Re: BenQ XL2420z and Grayed out options under 'Display mode'

Post by csplayer » 15 Oct 2020, 21:58

Just because you have Display Scaling ticked in NVIDIA control panel it does not mean display scaling is on.
For instance with my XG258Q it reports that i am using 1920x1080 in the top right corner if i play CS:GO with 4:3 resolution. ( with display scaling on but that means its scaling on the GPU)

However if i create a custom resolution at that 4:3 resolution in CRU with the same vertical total as the HD resolution i will get "true" display scaling, tabbit out takes longer and it shows in the OSD menu at the top right that the current resolution is 1024x768 ( for instance ) and it unlocks scaling control in the OSD menu that were not appearing before.

Also how can you even access the OSD if your monitor is overclocked?
Another thing,i think if you can even access those options at your monitor, that means you are using display scaling.

Post Reply