I need help optimizing Rocket League for lowest possible Input and Network Lag

Everything about latency. Tips, testing methods, mouse lag, display lag, game engine lag, network lag, whole input lag chain, VSYNC OFF vs VSYNC ON, and more! Input Lag Articles on Blur Busters.
rockstar_BLBU

I need help optimizing Rocket League for lowest possible Input and Network Lag

Post by rockstar_BLBU » 15 Jun 2023, 17:54

I've been playing Rocket League since it released in 2015. I have over 7K hours in total and I'm currently floating between GC3 and low SSL in rank (season just reset). My peak is top 50 in 1v1.

I've lately had increasing issues regarding input lag / display lag / network lag. On in-game terms it can be described as going through the ball often, not getting demoes I should've gotten, and also opponents clearly being ahead by hundreds of ms before I even have time to react (almost robotic, inhuman timings). Now I'm all for improving and respecting players who are faster than me, however, there is a clear difference between that and seing/feeling that something isn't right while playing ranked.

If you have an urge to comment/state that this is just "placebo" or that I need to focus on training rutines etc, I'll just ignore you. I want answers from people who want to help and that has an actual functioning brain :twisted:. If you are also experiencing similar issues and have a potential fix I'd really like to hear from you!

PC Specs:
  • ASUS LGA1700 ROG STRIX Z690-F GAMINGWIFI
    Intel 12900KS
    MSI GeForce RTX3080Ti GAMING X TRIO
    Corsair Vengeance DDR5 5600MHz 32GB (XMP 1)
    2000G FURY RENEGADE M.2 2280 NVMe SSD
    RM Series (2021), RM850, 850 Watt, 80 PL
Monitor:

Acer Nitro 390Hz
OD set to 'Normal'
VRB set to 'Extreme'
Freesync Premium set to 'Off'

Network:

Download - 100Mbps
Upload - 10Mbps
(yes I know... my internet sucks, but I have stable ping in-game)

Controller:
Dualsense (overclocked to a rate of 8000 using hidusbf)

Thatweirdinputlag