AW2725DF - Issues with custom refresh rates

Everything about displays and monitors. 120Hz, 144Hz, 240Hz, 4K, 1440p, input lag, display shopping, monitor purchase decisions, compare, versus, debate, and more. Questions? Just ask!
twigs

AW2725DF - Issues with custom refresh rates

Post by twigs » 02 Feb 2024, 09:01

TLDR: Unable to lock in any non-standard refresh rate via CRU and circumstances do not enable G-Sync to do so either. Am I stuck hoping for a firmware update regarding DSC or are my approaches and understandings wrong?

Hi, display noob here, I'm trying to "sync" my fps, refresh rate, and peripheral polling rates. I hadn't done the most research when buying this monitor and had been entirely unaware of DSC or any limitations I'd run into - this is a significant speed jump from my peak experience with the AW3423DW.

My primary focus is syncing 250hz with Quake Live's 250 fps cap, though I'm thinking I'd generally run 333hz for other games as well. (These values divide well into peripheral polling rates which are multiples of 1000, reducing jitter)
I'll go over what I've tried so far, note that I've never touched CRU before.

1) Basic Utilization of G-Sync
The frame rate limiting in Quake Live is quite poor and unstable, as a result the variable refresh rate is bouncing all over the place in a range of ~200 to ~330. Quake Live itself can specify refresh rates, however has an upper limit of 240hz, so I'm stuck with using a value of 0 which reflects the external refresh rate values.
So far, in my experience, this is providing the best experience in spite of the variance.

2) Create a 250hz custom resolution w/ CRU
I haven't been able to get any CRU changes to reflect in any way upon restarting drivers. I'm being told this is due to DSC being forced on with the monitor, however I haven't quite clearly came across DSC being a total blocker for CRU working in some searches.