Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Talk about AMD's FreeSync and VESA AdaptiveSync, which are variable refresh rate technologies. They also eliminate stutters, and eliminate tearing. List of FreeSync Monitors.
User avatar
LagBuster
Posts: 71
Joined: 15 May 2014, 06:50

Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by LagBuster » 07 Dec 2019, 09:18

So I tried to enable FreeSync on my monitor... Not sure if I'm missing something obvious, but FreeSync ain't on. :roll:

Image

In terms of what panel it is, the RTD2795 controller menu says it's AUO M270QAN01. Didn't find anything about VRR in the spec sheet for that panel, though.

User avatar
LagBuster
Posts: 71
Joined: 15 May 2014, 06:50

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by LagBuster » 07 Dec 2019, 10:27

Ok, I get it now... AMD's FreeSync FAQ says GPU support is from HD 7000 series 2012, but in reality it's from 2nd gen GCN, which started with the HD 7790 2013... No idea why the FAQ doesn't just say that. :evil:

Anyway, don't really mind because I have a new GPU coming in a few days.

User avatar
Chief Blur Buster
Site Admin
Posts: 7546
Joined: 05 Dec 2013, 15:44
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by Chief Blur Buster » 07 Dec 2019, 13:51

LagBuster wrote:
07 Dec 2019, 10:27
Ok, I get it now... AMD's FreeSync FAQ says GPU support is from HD 7000 series 2012, but in reality it's from 2nd gen GCN, which started with the HD 7790 2013... No idea why the FAQ doesn't just say that. :evil:

Anyway, don't really mind because I have a new GPU coming in a few days.
It's a subtlety that also affects NVIDIA native G-SYNC -- further back you even have ambiguities. Sometimes what is supported isn't, because of other complicating factors such as NVIDIA Optimus (co-operation with Intel GPU). Regardless of vendor, once you're at least one to two generations ahead of the minimum, the "Unsupported" problems are much less.
Head of Blur Busters - BlurBusters.com | TestUFO.com | Follow @BlurBusters on Twitter

       To support Blur Busters:
       • Official List of Best Gaming Monitors
       • List of G-SYNC Monitors
       • List of FreeSync Monitors
       • List of Ultrawide Monitors

User avatar
LagBuster
Posts: 71
Joined: 15 May 2014, 06:50

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by LagBuster » 07 Dec 2019, 14:31

Chief Blur Buster wrote:
07 Dec 2019, 13:51
It's a subtlety that also affects NVIDIA native G-SYNC -- further back you even have ambiguities. Sometimes what is supported isn't, because of other complicating factors such as NVIDIA Optimus (co-operation with Intel GPU). Regardless of vendor, once you're at least one to two generations ahead of the minimum, the "Unsupported" problems are much less.
Yep. That's partly why I bought the 1660 Super, to avoid any sort of compatibility issues and lack of features. It was definitely high time for an upgrade... ;)

User avatar
LagBuster
Posts: 71
Joined: 15 May 2014, 06:50

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by LagBuster » 12 Dec 2019, 06:35

Welp, I installed the 1660 Super + driver and enabled FreeSync on my monitor but I still don't see anything about G-Sync or FreeSync in the control panel. :lol: I do wonder why.

Nector
Posts: 10
Joined: 04 Dec 2019, 23:38

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by Nector » 14 Dec 2019, 15:19

Could be free sync on nvidia inly works over display port.

User avatar
jorimt
Posts: 1051
Joined: 04 Nov 2016, 10:44

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by jorimt » 14 Dec 2019, 15:27

https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers ... UyMQ%3D%3D
Do G-SYNC Compatible displays work on both DisplayPort and HDMI with GeForce GPUs?
G-sync Compatible displays will only support variable refresh rate over DisplayPort when connected to GeForce Pascal or Turing GPUs.
(jorimt: /jor-uhm-tee/)
Author: Blur Busters "G-SYNC 101" Series

Display: Acer Predator XB271HU OS: Windows 10 Pro MB: ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero CPU: i7-8700k GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 RAM: 32GB G.SKILL TridentZ @3200MHz

User avatar
LagBuster
Posts: 71
Joined: 15 May 2014, 06:50

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by LagBuster » 14 Dec 2019, 18:43

I am using DP. But I think the people who sell this monitor lied about it doing VRR. :roll: I think they included that option in the control panel but it doesn't actually do anything.

I bought it because it was cheap... :roll: Not too worried about it, though. So it's fine.

Tancred
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Jan 2020, 05:12

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by Tancred » 23 Jan 2020, 14:52

Are you running Win7 or 10?

I'm not sure, but I think running a FreeSync "G-Sync Compatible" monitor with an NVidia GPU requires Win10.

(I myself am trying to get VRR running on an 1660 Ti with an LG 27GL850 and failing at it, maybe because of Win7)

User avatar
LagBuster
Posts: 71
Joined: 15 May 2014, 06:50

Re: Does my monitor not support FreeSync?

Post by LagBuster » 23 Jan 2020, 15:48

Tancred wrote:
23 Jan 2020, 14:52
Are you running Win7 or 10?

I'm not sure, but I think running a FreeSync "G-Sync Compatible" monitor with an NVidia GPU requires Win10.

(I myself am trying to get VRR running on an 1660 Ti with an LG 27GL850 and failing at it, maybe because of Win7)
Win 7, so maybe you're right. :shock:

Post Reply